Emptiness in Games: A Brief Reflection on Silent Hill 2

sh2pc 2013-11-02 13-49-36-66

As far as horror game fans go, it seems like I’m the last guy on the planet who has played Silent Hill 2. Considered by some to be one of the most psychologically penetrating games ever made, Silent Hill 2 is a third person horror game with an abstract narrative concerned with loss, trauma, and mystery. It’s also a game I don’t understand completely because the game is outdated at this point, and to play it on a modern PC means facing many, many bugs. It’s almost impossible to play, and I was not privy to any of the cut-scenes in the game either (which operate as some of the only narrative aids). So I stopped playing it in hopes of filling my time more wisely. But it sticks with me. It pricks me under the cheek, in the temple. I’m not removing it from my computer because it’s filling a strange, hollow gap, and I feel like I might return to it from time to time and try to uncover (or at least encounter) its mysteries just a bit more fully.

As I mentioned, the game is about horror and facing the fear that results from horror. But it’s also a game about emptiness. The original game came out in 2001, and not originally for the PC. It’s a game that was released during an era of majesty in computer games and video games alike, but it sits off by itself in its own creepy, minimalist paradigm. It’s about a town that is filled with mist. It’s about a space where nightmares exist along with epithetic characters representing major abstract characteristics. When I say there is emptiness, I mean emptiness is being used as a thematic gesture. From the silence and lack of soundtrack to the completely abandoned environments, there is an unknown, a sense of unknown, ready to wash over and cause the player to feel slightly off-key and on edge. What happens if we seek out the answers to the story therein? Do we find objects more clearly in the hollow spaces, the empty rooms, or does the meaning of the game become more blurred, more disassociated? Who controls this sense of identity in a world where your own might be the only connection to humanity to you have left?

One response to “Emptiness in Games: A Brief Reflection on Silent Hill 2

  1. Silent Hill 2 has many layers in its story. I feel it’s like David Lynch’s Mulholland Drive. You can take the story from its surface, but when you contemplate it, it has many hidden messages represented in many symbols. That is what happened with Silent Hill 2.
    In its surface, the story told us about James who looks for his answer whether the letter from Mary is true or not, whether he would meet Mary or not. But in-depth, there are many stories behind.
    Silent Hill 2 has the best story of survival horror games.
    If you like horror movies or horror stories, you must play it. Yes, there are some bugs in playing it in Windows 7 or 8. I posted a review on this games in my blog. Later, I’ll post some tricks to play it conveniently in Windows 7 and in widescreen monitor. Though, i post them in my native language, Indonesian.

Leave a comment